Told in the point-of-view of several New Yorkers, Jane L. Ronsen’s novel gives the world of fashion a brand new perspective — one on how fashion can truly change lives. Let’s start here. I only picked up this book because well, I was bored and I needed something to read. 

I was at the Miami International Airport and I had a few hours to spare before my flight to JFK, so I browsed through a shop in the airport (can’t quite remember the name), looking for something to read. That’s when Nine Women One Dress caught my attention. Normally, I don’t read these types of genres. I often consider ‘fashion-themed’ books as filled with women who enjoy shopping. Those books are kind of like chick flicks but with words.

However, even though this seemed like a fashion book in the sense that it had the word ‘dress’ in it, I still picked it up because, i was interested in the plot. However, never in my life would I think that this book would give me a completely new perspective on New York and the fashion industry.

The book took me on a journey; a journey through the lens of several characters as they each face their own challenges and personal struggles and how that all changes when they found that ‘perfect’ dress. It was the kind of book that made me turn the page. It made me reflect on my own life and the journey that i just embarked on — fashion school.

It’s a book that I would recommend. It gives you a little snippet in the minds of a pattern-maker, a movie star, a regular sales girl, a model, and even a lawyer. Just for once, if you are looking for something to read, this is a good book to pick up. It can be read in one day.

Leave a Reply

